How blogging helped me.


Once upon a time I was sitting in my room, getting bored from watching all the reruns of popular TV shows like “The Big Bang Theory”, “How I Met Your Mother” etc. My summer vacations were on and I had ample of time to kill. And true to my word I was feeling like a serial killer at that. My parents kept on nagging me to do something “PRODUCTIVE” with my time. But to be honest, I was too lazy to go out of the comfort of my room and do PHYSICAL work. One day on the dining table, my dad says: “You know that the human mind comes up with 10,000 ideas a day. Why don’t you do something useful with them?  I was like: Dad. Please don’t start again.

Later that night, Ritvik Gautam, writer at Casacio, told me about this thing called Blog. He explained it to me in details and being a good friend he is, forced me to start one of own, so I could at least utilize my time instead of drowning it in the likes of Sheldon Cooper and Barney Stintson.

And then, I began my journey. You see at first when I started writing, I mostly wrote about the crazy experiences I had and the psychological effects they had on me. I never thought I could write a poem or was crazy and artistic enough to write one. But hey, blogging made me write one. Though it is not very good, but hey at least I wrote a poem. First I started at Blogger because of it’s simplicity. I wrote for about 4 months on blogger, but then I needed to expand my wings, so I decided to shift my work to WordPress, and since then it has been no looking back.

Without the blog I have right now:

I wouldn’t have met Lewis Hamilton. Courtesy Indiblogger and Vodafone.

I wouldn’t have received those hampers of Lakme and Dove for participating in their awesome contests.

I wouldn’t have used my emotions in a more better way than to vent it out in the form of writing.

I would not have come in contact with some of the amazing people who write very well.

I wouldn’t have had such a good conversation starters, especially with girls: “Hey do check out my blog” , “Do you read poems, if you do. You could checkout the ones I wrote.”

I wouldn’t have found a way to find my inner voice, like find a way to present my inner ideas in a form acceptable to all.  It also changes the way you think when you start to write on some topics and get to read or hear about them from other people.

I wouldn’t have figured out who I really am. It does sound crazy, but writing something helps to self discovery and gives you a certain clarity.

Blogging not only allowed me to process and channelise my ideas but it also helped me to form them around the words that helped me describe my life.

I once read: These days, you have the option of staying home, blogging in your underwear, and not having your words mangled. I think I like the direction things are headed. 

 

Somethings in life just cannot be expressed truly with words. The same holds true for the connection I hold with my blog and the fact that how immensely it helped me change my life for good. So all the readers out there, I request you to start a blog and convert your thoughts into word, because there is no feeling greater than that.

This post has been written for the WorldCamp Mumbai 2012

3 thoughts on “How blogging helped me.

  1. Winning prizes and getting hampers are just a small part of the benefits associated with blogging. There is more than all this to the sacred rite called ‘blogging’. CHANGE isn’t just holding a smartphone in your hands… it goes deeper than that.

    Arvind Passey
    http://www.passey.info

    • Maybe the prizes and the hampers are a small part, but they do give me some kind of happiness. Blogging is a sacred rite. Accepted. But then again I am yet to feel it’s spiritual side. Thank you for the comment anyways. 🙂

  2. I know this post is a few days old, but I just read it and wanted to say: thanks for sharing!!

    It’s good to be able to see what writing and blogging has done for you. A lot of people say that writing and blogging has helped them, but don’t explain in details how and your doing so helps me to reflect on what writing has done for me.

    Again thanks for your words!! Keep on blogging please 🙂

your impressions on the above impression.

