The 7x7x7x7 writing prompt


While mindlessly surfing through the internet, I chanced upon Deepa’s Blog. She had this interesting concept of the 7x7x7x7 writing prompt. The main prompt goes on like this:

Grab the 7th book from your bookshelf. Open it up to Page 7. Pinpoint the 7th sentence on the page. Begin a poem that begins with that sentence and limit it in length to 7 lines. 

So the 7th book on my shelf is “LIFE OF PI“. The 7th page lands me at the first chapter and the 7th line reads as follows:

tremendously. I looked as if I had been grafted with a pair of elephant legs”

Since the sentence is such , I also cheated around it a bit and cut it short from two sides.

Well, here goes the poem.

I looked as if I had been grafted

from the soul that was drafted

away,ripping me away.  

As I look forward to open this new door

for a new life ahead, I wait for the happiness

to come to me instead of me attracting the 

tragic way of life. Yes I now am more lucky to have been grafted.

4 thoughts on “The 7x7x7x7 writing prompt

  1. We all seem to be on this eternal quest for something, don’t we? Peace, happiness, recognition 🙂 That’s what makes us human I guess! Best wishes on your quest! Thank you for the link back!

your impressions on the above impression.

