The last look.


This post has been published by me as a part of the Blog-a-Ton 42; the forty-second edition of the online marathon of Bloggers; where we decide and we write. To be part of the next edition, visit and start following Blog-a-Ton. The theme for the month is “COLOR”

Final-Goodbye“The time has come” I finally sighed the words as I glanced around what had been my abode for the last 21 years of my life. The very place I first walked, spoke out my first words, cried and shit the first time and other such loving memories. The old rickety bed whose sound I used to hate, all of a sudden seemed pleasant to my ears, the rusty cabinet at the corner, pictures depicting my timeline adorned the doors of which and the walls of my room, on which with the bare hands of mine I colored the random colors of life. Sometimes when you are supposed to leave, even the things that annoy you the most seem so loving, as if pleading you not to go. In the last few days of my packing, I glanced through each of the things that lay remain in the most hidden corners of the room and heart, reminisced about them for hours on, braved through a few nervous breakdowns and continued to pack.

*buzz* *buzz*

Looking up at phone, my heart dropped as Vaani written in bold letters flashed across the screen and across the fields of time, I travelled back to the day I first met her.

“So when two electrons form a bond by…..”

“Ma’am, may I come in?”

It was the first period of our 11th standard. Chemistry. Sigh. As Mrs Sharma went on and on about how romantically the electrons made love to each other in different positions of Co-valent bond and electron bond, in walked Vaani. My eyes clicked with hers, I tried to awkwardly smile at her while she waited for permission to enter into the class.It has been 6 years since the day and the memory of it remains on my heart like the every other moment I spent with her.

*buzz**buzz*

Across the time, the buzzing brings me back to my present, I answer it.

“Hi”

“Soo, you are finally leaving?”

“Yeah. it’s about time. Where are you?”

“Look out the window.”

As I look down, I see her standing below. Running downstairs, I go and hug her tight. And in that moment, I felt what I was leaving behind. It weren’t the things that played their role growing up, it wasn’t my room that I was leaving behind, I was leaving a part of me. A part of me in that beautiful yet messy room of, a part of me in that city which helped me grow up and the biggest piece with Vaani. The heaviness of the moment took its toll and a sniff came around the corner.
“Shhh. Vivaan. Everything’s going to be okay.” Vaani consoled me as I hugged her tighter. As I released her from me, I could see the smudge mascara on her face and the ruined kajal across her eyes.

“I love you Vaani” was all that I could manage with the big lump in my throat.
“I love you too Vivaan.” she replied and hugged me once again.

There are some moments in your life when you wish the time stopped and the world stayed as it is, I wished the same during the time. The hug from Vaani gave all the comfort and consoling I needed and wished we always remained the same.

As I bid her goodbye and loaded the stuff onto the cab, I tried to capture every little thing that in a way, smaller or bigger made an impact in my life and in that moment I learned the true essence of life. Things change. Memories don’t. And in those times memories are the only things that keep you sane and happy. Like Dumbledore once said:Β Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.

The fellow Blog-a-Tonics who took part in this Blog-a-Ton and links to their respective posts can be checked here. To be part of the next edition, visit and start following Blog-a-Ton. Participation Count: 10

11 thoughts on “The last look.

  1. Welcome to Veteranship. It’s fun to have you as a part of Blog-a-Ton Harshal. πŸ™‚ More than that, this is a fantastic piece written by you. Vaani and Vivaan, beautiful love story. And by quoting Dumbledore’s words you made this a wonderful post. Keep writing for BAT. Good luck!

    Someone is Special

  2. Hi Harshal,

    Vivaan and Vaani !! Lovely couple πŸ™‚
    a cute story πŸ™‚
    Beautifully written !

    ( I had come here yesterday, but couldn’t comment then. office systems mein firewall ji kaam karte hein πŸ˜€ )

  3. I know it sounds redundant but I loved the way you incorporated Dumbledore’s saying at the end. Light is the actual thing that makes us realize different colors in the first place isn’t it? I hope these memories give ample light to Vivan till he is reunited with Vaani again πŸ™‚
    All the best for BAT πŸ™‚

your impressions on the above impression.

